Knitting for a European Winter Part 2: Fun Pink Scarf

** Creating Laura has moved to creatinglaura.com. You are currently viewing an old version of this post on an old version of this blog. Please pop on over to the new blog to see the current version of this post where you can comment and pin to your heart’s content. Thanks for sticking by me with this move!**

Hello from Amsterdam!

I’m very excited to blog about this pink scarf that I made for myself because I am very excited about the scarf.  I’ve been wearing it everywhere, and not just because it’s cold outside.  This scarf is so fun and cutesy and soft and warm and I made it for myself all by myself.

I found the free pattern at The Tricksy Knitter which is a super cute and informative website that I just happened to stumble across on google.

Things you will need:

  • Two or three balls of bulky yarn
  • Size 8 (5.0mm) knitting needles
  • Scissors
  • Needle for weaving in the ends

Directions:

  • Cast on 25 stitches
  • Rows 1-4: Knit.
  • Row 5: *Knit 2 together, yarn over; repeat from * until 1 stitch remains on left needle, knit 1.
  • Rows 6-9: Knit.
  • Rows 10, 12, 14: Purl.
  • Row 11, 13: Knit.
  • Repeat these 14 rows, ending with row 9, until scarf is the desired length.
  • Cast off.

Here are four fun ways to wear this fancy-dancy scarf when you’re walking across European bridges :

In addition to being pretty, the stripes of garter stitch help keep the scarf from rolling too much, which is what happens when you make a whole scarf out of stockinette stitch (like the one that I made for my boyfriend a few posts back).

I hope you’re staying warm wherever you are out there in the world.

Tot ziens!
xoxo
Laura

About Laura

My name is Laura, and I am a professional figure skater who gets to travel the world for my job. I love knitting, crafting, blogging, and drinking coffee.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Knitting for a European Winter Part 2: Fun Pink Scarf

  1. So cute! Thanks for the pattern, I will have to make one of these!

  2. Leslie says:

    Wow! You are such a fabulous knitter! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Beautiful scarf!!! ~Sophia

  4. Wow, gorgeous! I wish I knew how to knit. Thanks for the comment on my blog today ❤

  5. Such a wonderful color for a scarf and the pattern rocks too!

  6. craftyyup says:

    Love the eyelets! Such a smart color too! Enjoy Europe!

  7. Justin Gaumond says:

    It is a wonderful scarf!! And what a beautiful model too. 🙂

  8. Anna says:

    Knitting and coffee in a European city- my favorite combination. You know how to live well! 🙂

Comments are closed.