A Rhinestone Headband

** Creating Laura has moved to creatinglaura.com.  You are currently viewing an old version of this post on an old version of this blog. Please pop on over to the new blog to see the current version of this post where you can comment and pin to your heart’s content.  Thanks for sticking by me with this move!**

Hola from Miami!

I’m here doing a show for about a month, soaking up the sun and browsing crafting blogs (I can’t help myself), and that is how I stumbled across Anne Weil’s blog Flax & Twine.  I particularly loved her blog about making sparkly headbands, which you can find here, so I decided to try it myself!

 Here is the super-awesome result:

These are the things I used:

  • Plastic headband
  • Embroidery thread
  • Rhinestone trim (I found mine for $3 in the craft section at Walmart)
  • Glue (E6000!)
  • Old magazines to cover my work surface (E6000 is messy)
  • Scissors

This is how I made it:
To start, I covered my table with magazines and glued the end of the thread onto the inside of one end of the headband.

Then I wrapped the thread around the headband over and over to cover it up.

At the top of the headband where there are teeth, I wrapped the thread between each tooth twice and didn’t worry about the headband showing because it gets fully covered later on.

When I got to the other end of the headband, I glued the thread to the inside of the headband and cut off the excess.

Then it was rhinestone time!  I laid them over the headband, checking to make sure they were centered, and then I glued on the end of another piece of thread and began wrapping it just like before.  For continuity, I wrapped the thread 4 times in between each rhinestone.

I continued wrapping the thread until I got to the end of the string of rhinestones and then I glued the thread in place and cut it off.

And that was that!  The whole project only took about an hour, and I would highly recommend trying it yourself as well as checking out all the other cool tutorials on Flax & Twine.

Now I’m headed back out to the pool!
xoxo
Laura

About Laura

My name is Laura, and I am a professional figure skater who gets to travel the world for my job. I love knitting, crafting, blogging, and drinking coffee.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Rhinestone Headband

  1. handstitch says:

    I am envy…the sun, the pool. This nifty band surely will make me, or any girl, feel like a million buck! Thanks for the cheer I am longing for today, Ms. Laura 😀

  2. Naomi says:

    Totally love it!

  3. StyleLuver118 says:

    love it!

  4. Pingback: Feature Friday: DIY Rhinestone Headband | Crafts Unleashed

  5. Elaine says:

    That is really cool and looks so easy!

  6. jewelryrage says:

    Great tutorial!!!

  7. Pingback: DIY : İple Taşlı Taç Süslemesi | Hobi Fikirleri Yaratıcı El İşi Örnekleri

  8. Tahira says:

    That is great project and looks so easy!

  9. kat says:

    I am so making this! This is so cute! And I have a lot of thin cheapy headbands from H&M that I don’t wear so it’s perfect! Thank you 🙂

  10. Erica says:

    This is such a fun DIY. Bookmarking it for later 🙂

Comments are closed.